In Which It Occurs to Me How Reading Conditions Are So So Important

It’s funny how the simplest thing like reading also has conditions of a sort. It occurred to me when I started reading The House at Riverton that if I’d never found the paperback version in a used bookstore, I might never have read it at all. And would totally be missing out, because it is interesting (although it is taking me forever to finish reading – such a thick book it is! lol).

I actually started reading this book a while back when my friend Anj recommended it. Except I started with an ebook, and after reading a few pages, I put my iPad down and decided that maybe I should read it another time because it just didn’t capture my attention at the time.

In contrast, I probably wouldn’t have finished reading the A Song of Ice and Fire series if I’d read it in the physical version, as opposed to the digital kind. There’s something about those thick books with small lines that just don’t appeal to me.

There are also times when  I want to lie in bed and read, but it’s dark or I don’t want to get up and turn off the light, so I end up not reading a book at all. Unless it’s an ebook, in which case I can stay up all night if I have to. There are pros and cons to this. lol.

It’s actually quite silly, but I tend to think that sometimes reading conditions as the ones above can also determine one’s rating of a book. Sometimes, when reading a physical book, you can feel that you’re this close to finishing, just a little more and you’ve had read half of it, so might as well finish the whole thing. Other times, you feel quite surprised how quickly you’ve read through a book if you’re reading the digital version, because you have no idea how long it actually is, although of course there are markers on reading apps and all, but it’s just not the same as real books! o͡͡͡͡͡͡͡͡͡͡͡͡͡͡╮(。❛ᴗ❛。)╭o͡͡͡͡͡͡͡͡͡͡͡͡͡͡

I don’t know why I’m amused by all this. I actually feel like I’m having a debate with myself about physical books vs. ebooks. Lol.

It’s not just that, though. I began reading The Kiss of Deception when I was locked out of my house because I was stupid and forgot my key. My sister wasn’t home yet so I stayed outside with all the mosquitoes T____T for what was probably 2 hours and amused myself by reading. Sadly, I grew increasingly annoyed with the heroine in my book, although I think some of my ire was partially because I really did not appreciate sitting in the dark with the bugs while my sister took forever to get home. What’s funny is I’ve set aside The Kiss of Deception for another day when I’m less grumpy and don’t feel annoyed towards it. It just doesn’t seem fair, I need to try and read it in more comfortable conditions! ((T.T; )

I also remembering that I refused to read J.K. Rowling’s The Casual Vacancy when it came out, mostly because the cover was meh but also because I didn’t want to read it right after Harry Potter and just end up disappointed. When I finally got to reading it, I also put it aside for another day. I guess it was because I’d been reading a lot of fantasy novels at the time, so my brain didn’t want to settle on something so mundane as a small town in England. Haha. (But seriously, read The Casual Vacancy if you haven’t yet, it is wonderful!)

Of course, there’ll be books you’ll enjoy and get lost in no matter where you are or how you’re feeling. And there’ll also be the books you’ll hate no matter how comfortable you are. I just think that reading conditions can influence you in a way, especially if you’re reading one of those in-between books, the ones that you could end up loving or hating thoroughly, depending on how things go.

I wonder if this makes sense to anyone else. Or maybe it’s just me. I do feel like this happens to me quite a lot, who knows how many books I’ve put aside (either physical or digital) because I just wasn’t in the right mood or place or whatever! lol

Leave a Reply

