Ordering from Book Depository

Last month, I gave in to impulse and shooed away my fears about ordering things online because I badly wanted a hard copy of Uprooted after reading the first few pages. The book ended up being amazing all through out, so I have absolutely no regrets for ordering it right away, even though I hadn’t finished reading the book yet.

I decided to order from Book Depository. I’ve known about the site for a while now, and it’s especially appealing because they offer free shipping. Considering I live halfway around the world from their location (UK), I think that’s definitely a winner. There was a discount on Uprooted, too, which made it hard to resist. I’m a sucker for sales. Lol.

I actually really don’t like ordering things online. I’ve always used a third party–a middleman, I guess you could say–to order things like manga and kpop merchandise (don’t judge me lol) because the horror stories about customs and the postal service here are scary. But the temptation was soooo strong. I guess I could feel that the book was going to be worth it. 😄

After doing a bit of research online, I found that most people from around here managed to get their orders safe and sound, sometimes with a minimal fee. If you don’t get your order, Book Depository offers a refund. Now that was a relief, because I don’t think anyone would appreciate paying for something that might never come.

Aside from Uprooted, I ordered Tangle Box for my friend Anj, who has been searching high and low for it to complete her Magic Kingdom of Landover series. I placed the order on May 28 using my PayPal (you can also use a credit card!). Tangle Box got dispatched the day after, while Uprooted got dispatched after 3 days. The site tells you if they have stock for the book you want and how long it takes for them to dispatch your order. My books were all dispatched within the time mentioned on the site.

Once you place an order on Book Depository, after they dispatch the books, there’s no way to track your order. You just have to sit tight and hope they come soon. The site says it takes 7-10 business days to deliver to the Philippines. The reviews I read said it could take anything from 2 weeks to a month or two (!!!) so I resolved to just sit and try not to worry.

Happily enough, I got the books last Friday (June 19). I had them delivered to my office and was half-asleep when the guard stopped my desk and handed them to me. That sure woke me up! Haha.

DSC01653

I squealed a little inside when I got the packages!

I had ordered the hardcover version of Uprooted, which came in a carton-like envelope thing. Tangle Box, which was a paperback, came in a bubble wrap envelope.

DSC01654

Unpacked: Pretty, pretty books with free bookmarks!

The books aren’t wrapped in plastic or anything, unlike books you purchase at a bookstore, and the edges got a little bent, but I’m not that picky, so it’s okay.

DSC01666DSC01669 A few bends and wrinkles on the spine and on the flaps and corners, but still pretty~ ^^

As long as I have my pretty, pretty book, I’m all set. And Uprooted’s cover is just so nice! It even shines a little in the sunlight. Ehehehe.

DSC01658

I’m so in love with this cover!!!

DSC01664

This one’s pretty neat too. Anj, let me borrow this soon! Hehe.

I don’t know why Book Depository puts books in separate packages even if you order them all at once, but hey, I’m not going to complain. Free shipping, great customer service, discounts, plus I now have a source of all the rare books I can’t find here? No complaints here at all. Hehe.

All in all, it took about 3 weeks to get my order. According to the stamp on the package, it was already in the country on June 10 so…the blame for the delay goes to customs. I’m not going to complain about that either, because at least I didn’t have to pay any fees for the books. XDDDD

I’m definitely going to order from Book Depository again soon. I’m glad I now have this option, considering how many books I want to own but can’t find in local bookstores. Sure, I could probably do a special order, but those take forever and are kinda pricey. Uprooted cost me around 800 pesos, which isn’t bad for a hardcover edition–and one that’s only recently been released too! Now I don’t have to stalk the bookstores anymore. Hehehe.

Perhaps next time, I’ll try ordering manga from Kinokuniya and see how that goes~ ^^

Leave a Reply

