Book Signing: Meeting Victoria Aveyard

Heeeey, what’s up, guys. I know I haven’t posted here in months, but when you’re struggling with work and real life shit while dealing with depression, blogging is the last thing on your mind. I’m sorry. 😦

However, I’ve been picking up the pieces of my life and trying to work myself out of depression, step by tiny step.

odbA7zH.gif

What Dory said.

Anywaaaay, one of the things that convinced me to get out of bed was attending a book signing. I haven’t attended any book events before, except a private Meet the Author event with Eros Atalia that was sponsored by my friends’ company book club (and they let us non-co-worker friends join! :D).

Last year, I read Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard and thought it was great. Needless to say, I was ecstatic when I saw this poster at National Book Store.

12715330_10153405132381914_8723083009645700609_n

Yaaaaaaaaas!

NBS requires that you buy the books from their branches (aka no other book stores, duh XD) to join the event. So when the second book, Glass Sword, came out, I grabbed a copy as soon as I saw it on the bookshelves. (Also I really, really wanted to know what happened next!!)

I went to the Manila book signing, which was held at National Book Store’s Glorietta branch on March 6, 2016. Registration started at 10 am and the event started at 2 pm.

Because I’m a noob, I had no idea that going to the mall late would mean I’d almost miss out on the event. I didn’t know people had camped out in front on NBS since the night before. X’D I arrived at the mall around 11:30 and was surprised by all the people lined up inside and outside the store.

I had no idea that they’d only be accommodating a certain amount of people, which, in this case, was 1200 people. Well, I did think that was possible (otherwise every author who signed books would have no more hands lol) but I didn’t expect there to be so many people right away?? I pretty much underestimated the power of fandoms here in the Philippines. XDDDD

I ended up being the 955th person in line to register. After registration, I had some lunch then came back to wait for the event to start. There was sooooo many people and the space for the event was sooo small, idk how 1200 people (or more, since parents were accompanying their kids lmao) managed to fit in.

image

Sooooo many people lol. Spot Victoria in the background! lol

The event started a little bit after 2 pm, with an introduction and a Q&A portion. The host asked a few questions and three fans were given the chance to ask questions.

I didn’t get much from the Q&A because I was in the back and couldn’t see anything #shortpeopleproblems and people kept screaming (fans are so passionate here haha) but here’s what I learned:

  • Victoria loves mangoes.
  • When asked if she was #TeamCal or #TeamMaven, Victoria said she was #TeamMare because the books are so much more than just which guy Mare ends up with. (Which I heartily agree with. Also, I lol’d so much at the question because no author would ever answer that properly because that would give away one of the important plots????)
  • Victoria’s ultimate female character is Princess Leia. YAAAS STAR WARS FTW PEOPLE

leia.gif

#queen

  • She’s currently writing the third book in the series but can’t say what the title is because the last time she said anything, she got yelled at for giving away important information X’D

The actual book signing took place right after Q&A and it was pretty organized! They’d call 20 people (based on their numbers during registration) to line up every 5-10 minutes (I think) and each person got to meet Victoria and get a picture with her. There were NBS staff members assigned to take registration numbers, ready the books for signing, and take pictures for each fan. I thought it was pretty neat! Kudos to NBS for making everything easier and faster for everyone 🙂

The entire book signing took around 6 hours, and I admire Victoria for being so nice and friendly throughout it. She took 2-3 short breaks and would go back right away to signing books and answering a question or two from each fan. When it was my turn, I asked how her hand was and she answered, “Oh, the hand’s okay! It’s the cheeks that hurt.” XD

Thanks for being great and accommodating the entire time, Victoria!

Aside from the actual book signing, NBS also had several giveaways on Twitter. They gave away Epic Reads posters and Advanced Reader Copies of several books, which I thought was really nice.

I won twice, but I only claimed one because I saw the other tweet waaay too late. My phone battery was drained before they tweeted a second time so…I only got one ARC. T___T (Which, funnily enough, I read and finished while waiting for my turn at the signing hahahahaha). I emailed NBS yesterday though, and they said I can claim it at the NBS Glorietta branch staring on March 13. Yay!

I won an ARC yaaaaaas 😂 Thank you @nbsalert #QueenofHeartsManila #VictoriaAveyardinPH

A post shared by O. 🇵🇭 (@lambentlights) on

(I know this book’s already published but hey, it was still nice)

It was a really great day, though. I didn’t mind waiting so much because I was busy people watching and reading and checking social media. XD But, just in case there are a few noobs out there like me, here’s a few tips:

  1. Go to the bookstore early! Not necessarily camp-out-imma-sleep-here-early, but maybe an hour before the mall opens? It’s better to be early so you get a sure slot (and also so you can go home early looool)
  2. Make sure all your gadgets are charged! My phone was dying when it was my turn but I had a digital camera with me so that was okay. But I missed claiming my second ARC because I had killed off my mobile data to save battery life :(((
  3. Bring a charger. You know, just in case your battery drains faster than expected. You can always hang out at Starbucks or any other place that lets you charge your phone while waiting.
  4. If you’re the 500th person or more in line, you can leave for 2-3 hours and just come back so you don’t get bored. Haha. If you miss your turn, the staff will let you line up anyway, so it’s okay 🙂
  5. Bring water! And food! Especially if you’re going to camp out. Or if you’re going to have to wait a long time for your turn. Bring a book too! (Save battery life and read physical books! Lol)

I felt really overwhelmed by all the people, especially all the kids (I felt so old lmao #titasofmanila) and my social anxiety started kicking up and I almost went home once or twice. But waiting was well worth the wait. Winning an ARC and meeting an author I admire was definitely an awesome experience.

Mission accomplished 👍 #latergram #VictoriaAveyardinPH

A post shared by O. 🇵🇭 (@lambentlights) on

<333333

There’s another book signing this weekend, but I don’t know if I’ll be able to go! ;___; There’ll only be 350 slots for registration and I probably won’t be camping overnight at the bookstore (because, again, I’m old and cranky and I really need my sleep on weekends after an exhausting week at work haha) but….maybe Lady Luck will smile on me and let me join, eh? *crosses fingers*

Have you ever been to a book signing? Was it a crazy experience like mine? X’D

 

2 comments

  1. lmao @ your hashtags orlinchan :)))))

    i’m so happy you got to attend victoria aveyard’s book signing and for winning an ARC! i haven’t even read her books but as long as it makes you happy then yay! ❤

    book signings by foreign authors don't happen too often (or it's becoming a trend lately?) so i suggest you go this weekend, too!! 😉 just be earlier, and maybe, bring a powerbank or a charger for your phone.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think it’s becoming a trend lately, which makes me happy because it means more and more people are reading books now 😀

      I’ve seen people planning to line up at the bookstore at like 3 am so idk if I’ll even make the cut this weekend. Hahaha. Sila na madami energy at willing mag-effort ng todo :))))))

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

