A Little Something Different by Sandy Hall

20801166Title: A Little Something Different

Author: Sandy Hall

Genre: Realistic Fiction, Romance, Young Adult

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Summary:

The creative writing teacher, the delivery guy, the local Starbucks baristas, his best friend, her roommate, and the squirrel in the park all have one thing in common—they believe that Gabe and Lea should get together. Lea and Gabe are in the same creative writing class. They get the same pop culture references, order the same Chinese food, and hang out in the same places. Unfortunately, Lea is reserved, Gabe has issues, and despite their initial mutual crush, it looks like they are never going to work things out.  But somehow even when nothing is going on, something is happening between them, andeveryone can see it. Their creative writing teacher pushes them together. The baristas at Starbucks watch their relationship like a TV show. Their bus driver tells his wife about them. The waitress at the diner automatically seats them together. Even the squirrel who lives on the college green believes in their relationship.

Surely Gabe and Lea will figure out that they are meant to be together….

This is actually a 2.5 stars book but I’m rounding it off to 3 because that cover is goddamn gorgeous.

I started out liking this a lot. It’s cute to have several different POVs about a love story..and none of them are the main characters’ POVs. I thought it was an interesting way of showing how romance unfolds and how people perceive it. Plus Lea is Asian (!!!) so I thought it was nice to actually have an Asian girl as the main character at once.

The romance is pretty standard though. Shy, awkward boy and girl meet and there’s a spark but they can’t seem to get together even though everyone can see that they’re clearly made for each other. And there’s a whole bunch of people who really would like to see them get together.

That was interesting for the first 100 pages, then it started getting old. Because everyone, and I mean, EVERY PERSON in this book kept rooting for them. Even bitchy Charlotte the barista and always angry Victor ended up shipping them because they were so adorable and cute.

ed7789fc874dd3aab32de08235157432.jpgSeriously?!

Another thing: I thought the bench and squirrel POVs were unnecessary. I don’t even understand what the bench was doing there. It didn’t really contribute anything to the plot???

But hey, I think this book was cute, but I just am not a fan of all this saccharine sweetness. Plus matchmaking gets on my nerves (the trauma of spending your early 20s being matched to every single male in the vicinity by meddling “friends”), so although I thought Inga’s silly matchmaking game was funny at first, it slowly became annoying after she kept making little schemes to get Gabe and Lea together.

6d3d0160-7709-0131-099b-1a593329057b.gifYes, yes we get it. Please stop now.

(Of course, the matchmaking issue is my issue, not the book’s fault. XD)

All in all, I thought the book was too cute and sweet for my liking, but I think other people who enjoy romance would really like it! (And you’ll notice I may have used the word “cute” too many times in this review, which makes me think I should put it on my list of words not to use–inside joke for those who read the book. Hah!)

Leave a Reply

